Bear-celona: MACBA and Copasetic

Whenever my sister and I travel together, we like to plan for some great art museums. Whenever we’re in New York City together, we love to see the MoMA, the Whitney, the New Museum, etc. One of the major sights that we saw during our short trip to Barcelona was the Museum of Contemporary Art of Barcelona (MACBA)!

The exterior of the MACBA building was expansive and concrete, and many a skateboarder was found attempting tricks despite the guards’ warnings not to do so. The interior is comforting and well-lit with art arranged by decade as well as special exhibits. We left our stuff in a refundable locker (one of the great many perks of museums) and enjoyed taking our time through the exhibits. They had several pieces by the Guerrilla Girls, a feminist art collective my sister and I both love. We also enjoyed their permanent collection and, of course, the MACBA gift shop!

We learned our lesson after our walking tour and made plans for lunch at Copasetic that day. Copasetic is conveniently just down the street from MACBA off Gran Via De Les Corts Catalanes. “Copasetic” means “satisfactory,” or as their info page describes it, “totally satisfied.” Copasetic specializes in organic, sustainable cuisine, and their menu has a wide variety of options. Between their egg plates, salads, burgers, and full brunch menu, you might think you’re at home on the Upper West Side! Their menus is also clearly labeled for certain ingredients including lactose, gluten, soy, eggs, as well as mustard and celery. They also have items clearly labeled “vegan” to distinguish from the lactose free options. 

I ordered the chicken sandwich with arugula and cucumber. I may have mentioned this before but sandwiches are actually one of my favorite things to eat at restaurants—and arugula is easily my favorite salad green. I love restaurant sandwiches because I find the garnishes and fixings to be more creative and intriguing than the few things I add to my sandwiches at home. They also make easy leftovers for later when traveling because they don’t typically spill in my backpack or require reheating. 

My sister ordered the Galician hake burger, which was like an extremely fancy fish fillet sandwich. Galicia is an autonomous region of Spain located on the Atlantic coast, so seafood is a major part of their cuisine. Spain’s official national tourism office even has a recipe for Galician hake on their website!

Their cocktail menu is also quite detailed and impressive. We enjoyed the mint and agave lemonade which was a vast improvement on the version we had on our first day at Olivia Café. My sister and I both love inventive lemonade pairings such as mint, lavender, or blueberry. Lemonade has always been a special treat to us, so extra fun mix-ins take it to the next level! 

If we were staying in Barcelona for longer, we would have enjoyed returning to both the MACBA and Copasetic for more leisurely strolls and delicious meals. For this short trip, we soaked up as much as we could in one afternoon and headed on to our next adventure!